We focus on three primary goals: protected area, nature products and nature education.

Sponge City

What is a sponge city?

Sponge city is to compare the city to a sponge, which can absorb, store, infiltrate and purify the rain, add groundwater and regulate the water cycle during the rainfall, and in the drought period release the stored water and make use of it.

Sponge is the concept of a new generation of urban rainwater management. Through the strengthening of urban planning and construction management, buildings, roads, greenbelts and water systems and other ecosystems are able to fully absorb, store, infiltrate and slowly release rainfall so as to effectively control rainwater runoff and realize the urban development way of natural accumulation, natural infiltration and natural purification. Sponge city construction can help the city have a good "elasticity" in adapting to environmental changes and dealing with the natural disasters caused by rainwater.

The purpose of the sponge city planning and construction is to make the city have a healthy water cycle, a good ecological environment and a beautiful urban landscape system. Sponge city planning and construction should follow the principles of planning guide, ecological priority, safety first, adjusting measures to local conditions and overall construction.

Absorbing The Future

  • Urban Rainwater Management
  • Green Intrastructure
  • Low impact development

Why build sponge cities?

City is the comprehensive product of human’s civilization development, and about half of the world’s population is living in cities. China's urbanization rate is close to 57.35% (based on the 2016 data of National Bureau of Statistics), and by 2020, China's urbanization rate will exceed 60% (based on the 2017 government work report of Premier Li Keqiang), meaning that more than 800 million people will live in cities. The process of rapid urbanization brings high-speed social and economic development, but it also causes many problems, for example, the woodlands, farmlands and water systems and other ecological spaces are occupied, destroyed, fragmented and finally functionally declined, and the city underlying surface turns into stereoplasm, etc. In view of cities' current prominent hydrological security issues like urban waterlogging and water quality degradation, the government has put sponge city construction to the national strategic level. President Xi said at the Central Urbanization Work Conference in 2013:" In order to solve the problem of urban water shortage, we must conform to nature, give priority to staying the limited rainwater and making use of natural forces to drain away water, and thus build a sponge city of natural accumulation, natural infiltration and natural purification." So far this is the first time that the word "sponge city" appears in the central documents.

Half the world's population is living in cities.

In the case of waterlogging, according to the survey data of the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development, from 2008 to 2010, 62% of the cities in China had waterlogging. 137 cities have endured waterlogging for more than three times, and 57 cities’ longest ponding time exceeded 12 hours. Waterlogging has obviously become a normal city problem faced by nearly half of the cities in China, resulting in a huge loss of property and life casualties.

How to build a sponge city?

The construction of a sponge city involves a large number of concepts and techniques from different areas, such as water industry, planning, construction, landscape architecture, forestry and environmental protection. The essence of it is to use urban natural systems (green infrastructures), including rivers and lakes and other water systems, wetlands, woodlands, and farmlands, to multi-levelly control, scatter and strand water in the source of rainfall and combine with the city's pipe network facilities (gray infrastructures) to reduce the city's water problems.

Experience shows that under normal climatic conditions and complete urban pipe network construction, a typical sponge city can store up more than 80% of the rain. For the city of natural endowment, sponge city construction focuses more on the function recovery of water, wetlands and woodlands. For other cities of higher level of urbanization and inferior natural endowment, especially old cities, the cities’ sponge transformation task rather relies on the "sponge" function of urban garden greening, such as roof greening, urban green parks, and artificial wetlands and so on.

The sponge city construction is a classic case of urban sustainable development in combining green infrastructures and gray infrastructures. On the basis of the city’s complete drainage system, it aims to enhance the additional function of urban natural system components, make the hydrological function of urban complex ecosystem reach a dynamic balance, and ultimately solve the problem of urban waterlogging.

Due to the complex construction, large investment demand and long return cycle, it is necessary for sponge cities to follow the urban development laws and natural laws, respect civilian force, use civilian resources and play the citizens’ principal role. Government investment is certainly an important force for the sponge city, but the social forces also need to be widely mobilized. Take as an example of the foreign advanced urban construction case, the costs of sponge city construction account for 20% of the total cost of urban construction, and the costs may be higher due to the historical problems of domestic urban drainage system. This part of financial deficit requires the civil and government’s joint efforts to introduce social funds, and carry the project out together with the governmental investment. Meanwhile, the projects like urban ecological greenbelts and green roof platforms also need civilian participation in the implementation.

Current sponge city construction

In 2005, the General Office of the State Council issued the Guiding Opinions on Promoting the Construction of Sponge Cities. It points out that through the construction of sponge city, the measures such as "infiltration, stagnation, storage, purification, usage and drainage" and so on need be adopted to minimize the impact of urban development and construction on ecological environment, and absorb and use 70% of the rainfall on the spot. By 2020, more than 20% of the urban built-up area should meet the target requirements. By 2030, more than 80% of the urban built-up area should meet the target requirements.

To this end, the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development, and Ministry of Water Resources in 2015 and 2016 carried out the pilot work of national sponge city construction. The first batch of 16 pilot cities are Qian'an, Baicheng, Zhenjiang, Jiaxing, Chizhou, Xiamen, Pingxiang, Jinan, Hebi, Wuhan, Changde, Nanning, Chongqing, Suining, Guian New District and Xi Xian New District. The second batch of 14 pilot cities are Beijing, Tianjin, Dalian, Shanghai, Ningbo, Fuzhou, Qingdao, Zhuhai, Shenzhen, Sanya, Yuxi, Qingyang, Xining and Guyuan.

What do we do?

Private institutions in the construction of sponge city can achieve a lot by cooperating with the government. Therefore, the Paradise Foundation established the working group led by the director Ma Huateng, and united with The Nature Conservancy (TNC) to carry out the special work of sponge city. It has also signed a memorandum of cooperation with Shenzhen, using Shenzhen as a window city to carry out a series of work like sponge city policy research, case demonstration and promotion to coordinate with the government to better promote the pilot work of the sponge city.

Our work is mainly carried out from the following four aspects:

1. Training Program for City Governors

We will carry out the training of sponge city construction concept and the best practice for the city's mayor and municipal party secretary so as to get across the concept, methods and practice of sponge city and better promote its construction.

2. Sponge City Policy Research

We will do special research by combining with the planning, construction, financing and other issues in sponge city construction process, and provide the government with rational proposals through appropriate channels.

3. Case Study of Sponge City

We will introduce overseas advanced cases of sponge city construction, operation and maintenance so as to provide reference for domestic sponge cities, and from a civil perspective promote experience exchangement between China and foreign countries.

4. Concept Promotion of Sponge City

We will spread the concept of sponge city through the use of modern media means to help more citizens understand sponge city, promote sponge city, and participate in the construction of sponge city in the flesh. We will also set up the "sponge city award" to reward and publicize the outstanding individuals, planning cases, construction cases, operating management cases and social participation cases during the construction process of sponge cities.

By 2030, 80% of urban built-up area should reach target goal.

Concept of green infrastructures

Green infrastructure is not a new concept. It is linked to the concepts of greenway and ecological network. They interconnect with each other, and their core issue is how to create a harmonious and sustainable environment by planning the open space system of the city. Green infrastructure concept is the extension of urban green space construction theories such as park systems, greenbelts, green roads and ecological infrastructures.

The construction of the sponge city is a better link to the green infrastructures and the gray infrastructures. Compared to gray infrastructures, green infrastructures are able to generate considerable ecological benefits, and the costs of construction and maintenance are relatively low, but this does not mean that all gray infrastructures should be turned into green. What we need to do is to make gray infrastructures and green infrastructures be better connected to play a coordinated role.

我们专注于三个主要的方向:保护关键栖息地,通过开发自然产品让社区受益,为公众提供自然体验。

海绵城市 承纳未来

什么是海绵城市?

海绵城市是比喻城市像海绵一样,降雨时能够就地或者就近吸收、存蓄、渗透、净化雨水,补充地下水,调节水循环;干旱缺水时有条件将蓄存的水释放出来,并加以利用。

海绵城市是新一代城市雨洪管理的理念,通过加强城市规划建设管理,充分发挥建筑、道路、绿地和水系等生态系统对雨水的吸纳、蓄渗和缓释作用,有效控制雨水径流,实现自然积存、自然渗透、自然净化的城市发展方式。建设海绵城市,能使城市在适应环境变化、应对雨水带来的自然灾害等方面具有良好“弹性”。

海绵城市规划建设的目的是,使城市具有良性的水循环、良好的生态环境和优美的城市景观系统。海绵城市规划建设原则应遵循:规划引领、生态优先、安全为重、因地制宜、统筹建设。

  • 城市雨水管理
  • 绿色基础设施
  • 低影响开发

为什么要建设海绵城市?

城市是人类文明发展至今的集大成产物,目前全球约有一半人口生活在城市。在中国城市化率已经接近57.35%(国家统计局2016年数据),到2020年,中国的城市化率将超过60%(李克强总理2017年政府工作报告),意味着超过8亿人将居住在城市。快速城市化过程带来高速的社会发展和经济腾飞,但也造成了林地、农田和水系等生态空间占用破坏,破碎化而至功能减退,城市下垫面硬质化等问题。针对城市目前凸显的城市内涝、水质退化等水文安全问题,政府已将海绵城市建设上升到国家战略层面。习总书记在2013年的中央城镇化工作会议上明确指出:“解决城市缺水问题,必须顺应自然,要优先考虑把有限的雨水留下来,优先考虑更多利用自然力量排水,建设自然积存、自然渗透、自然净化的海绵城市。“至此,”海绵城市“这个词语第一次在中央的文件中出现。

世界人口的一半居住在城市。

就内涝而言,据住建部调查数据,2008-2010年期间,全国62%的城市发生过城市内涝,内涝灾害超过3次以上的城市有137个,57个城市的最长积水时间超过12小时。内涝已然成为中国将近一半城市面临的常态化城市问题,造成了巨大的财产损失和生命伤亡。

怎么建设海绵城市?

海绵城市创建涉及大量不同领域概念和技术,诸如水务、规划、建设、园林、林业和环保等领域,其本质是利用城市的自然系统(绿色基础设施),包括河湖江等水系、湿地、林地、绿地以及农田等,在降水源头多层次控制、分散、滞留,并结合城市的管网设施(灰色基础设施)来减少城市的水问题。

经验表明:在正常的气候条件和完备的城市管网建设背景下,典型海绵城市可以截流80%以上的雨水;对于自然禀赋优良的城市,海绵城市建设更多落在了对于水系、湿地、林地等自然系统的功能恢复上;而一些城市化水平更高、自然禀赋较差的城市,特别是其老城区海绵改造任务更多依托城市园林绿地的“海绵”功能,如屋顶绿化、城市绿地公园、人工湿地等。

海绵城市建设是将绿色基础设施和灰色基础设施结合起来的城市可持续发展的经典案例,在城市完善的排水系统基础上,提升城市自然系统组分的附加功能,使城市复合生态系统的水文功能趋于动态平衡,最终解决城市内涝问题。

海绵城市由于建设复杂、投入需求大以及回报周期长,因此需要遵循城市发展规律和自然规律,尊重民间力量,利用民间资源,发挥公民主体作用。政府的投入肯定是海绵城市的重要力量,但是还需要广泛动员社会力量。拿国外先进的城市建设案例来讲,海绵城市的建设费用占到整个城市建设费用的20%,由于国内城市排水系统的历史问题,建设费用可能更高。这部分资金缺口,需要民间与政府合力,引入社会资金,结合政府投入的方式来进行。而城市生态绿地、屋顶平台绿地等等工程,更需民间参与才能落到实处。

海绵城市的建设现状?

2015年国务院办公厅发布《关于推进海绵城市建设的指导意见》,指出:通过海绵城市建设,综合采取“渗、滞、蓄、净、用、排”等措施,最大限度地减少城市开发建设对生态环境的影响,将70%的降雨就地消纳和利用。到2020年,城市建成区20%以上的面积达到目标要求;到2030年,城市建成区80%以上的面积达到目标要求。

为此,财政部、住建部、水利部于2015,2016年两年间,开展了全国海绵城市建设试点工作,第一批16个试点城市为:迁安、白城、镇江、嘉兴、池州、厦门、萍乡、济南、鹤壁、武汉、常德、南宁、重庆、遂宁、贵安新区和西咸新区;第二批14个试点城市为:北京、天津、大连、上海、宁波、福州、青岛、珠海、深圳、三亚、玉溪、庆阳、西宁和固原。

我们做什么?

民间机构在海绵城市建设中可以配合政府做很多的工作,为此桃花源基金会成立了由马化腾理事领导的工作组,并联合大自然保护协会(TNC)开展海绵城市的专项工作。并已经和深圳市签订了合作备忘录,利用深圳作为窗口城市开展海绵城市政策研究、案例示范以及宣传推广等一系列工作,配合政府更好的推进海绵城市试点工作。

我们的工作主要从以下四方面开展:

1. 城市领导者培训

针对城市的市长、市委书记开展海绵城市建设理念、最佳实践的培训,让城市领导者了解海绵城市的理念、方法和实践,更好的推动海绵城市的建设

2. 海绵城市的政策研究

结合海绵城市建设过程中的规划、建设、融资模式等问题进行专项研究,并通过合适的渠道向政府提供合理化建议

3. 海绵城市案例推广

引入海外海绵城市建设、运行维护的先进案例为中国海绵城市的建设、管理和运行提供借鉴,并从民间的角度来推动中外的经验交流

4. 海绵城市理念推广

利用现代传媒手段,对海绵城市的理念进行普及,推动更多的公民了解海绵城市,宣传海绵城市,自己动手参与海绵城市的建设;并建立“海绵城市奖“对于海绵城市建设过程中的突出的个人、规划案例、建设案例、管理运营案例、社会参与案例进行奖励和宣传。

到2030年,城市建成区80%以上面积达到海绵城市目标要求。

绿色基础设施的概念

绿色基础设施并不是一个新的概念,它和绿道、生态网络等概念一脉相承,互相联系,它们的核心问题是如何通过规划城市开放空间体系来创造一个和谐、可持续发展的人居环境。绿色基础设施概念是公园体系、绿带、绿道、生态基础设施等城市绿地建设理论的延伸。

海绵城市的建设是将绿色基础设施和灰色基础设施的更好的链接。对于灰色基础设施,绿色基础设施的建设是能够产生可观的生态效益,建造和维护成本也相对较低,但这并不是说要将灰色设施全部变绿,我们所要做的是让灰色设施与绿色设施之间更好的连接,发挥协同作用。