We focus on three primary goals: protected area, nature products and nature education.




Located in Pingwu County, Sichuan Province, Laohegou is part of the famous giant panda habitat in China. It also falls within the boundary of the Minshan Mountains, adjoining Hengduan Mountains in the north, which was identified by China Biodiversity Conservation Strategies and Action Plan as priority for action for the rich biodiversity.


Covering a total area of 110 square kilometers, Laohegou Reserve represents the first ever civil protected area in China. This site used to be a state-owned forest farm first established in the 1970s for lumber production. Since the imposition of a nationwide logging ban on natural forests in 1998 by the central government, the forest farm faced great pressure both in nature conservation and economic development.

In September 2011, a group of entrepreneurs who were enthusiastic about improvement of public well-being came together to create Sichuan Nature Conservation Foundation, SNCF (the current ‘Sichuan Paradise Foundation’), a funding agency dedicated to provide ongoing financial support for local conservation efforts. SNCF entered into an agreement with Pingwu County Government in 2012 for placement of the land in the foundation’s trust for a fifty-year period, paving the way for SNCF to exercise management authority over the land. In 2013, SNCF managed to make the land a county-level reserve, and the following year, created the Laohegou Reserve Conservation Center, a localized agency that took on former forest farm staff and brought the land under long-term protection and management.


  • 110 Square Kilometers
  • Giant Panda Habitat
  • Fully Self-Sustaining


Laohegou Reserve seeks to find a financially sustainable pathway to operational excellence, which attaches equal importance to both science-based conservation and community development.

Science-based Conservation

Since founding, Laohegou Conservation Center has worked with academics, botanists and zoologists from a number of research and academic institutions to undertake comprehensive resource inventory processes on local animals and plants, and delivered a series of studies on the local biodiversity. The Center’s science team identified eight key conservation targets for action (i.e., the giant panda and its habitats, alpine ravine ecosystems, evergreen and second growth forest, forest ungulates, large carnivorous animals such as the Asian golden cat, the Sichuan golden monkey, alpine scrubs and meadows), and assessed the key threats to those targets (e.g., illegal poaching, trapping and fishing). Based on the assessments, resources were allocated in appropriate proportions for implementing conservation, scientific research and monitoring operations over the local biodiversity dynamics.

Community Development

By building a good rapport with our ‘neighbors’ of the traditional rural communities living on the land, Laohegou Reserve has been seeking to pilot a conservation-development model that accommodates the local communities’ needs as well as those for biodiversity conservation. Over the past years, the Reserve has helped promote creation of village councils for discussion and consultation among the community members, assisted the villagers in cultivating organic farm products and operating tourism services, which has greatly benefited the villagers in financial terms, and created a special fund dedicated to local children’s education.

Most recently, the Reserve founded a social enterprise, Pingwu Baihuagu Honey Products Co. Ltd, which specializes in sales of organic farm products. This effort, aiming to separate the Reserve’s profit-making operations (i.e., hospitality and sales of honey products) from its Reserve-based conservation activities, represented part of the Reserve’s pioneering efforts to adopt a business approach to enabling its conservation operations in a self-supporting, financially sustainable manner by generating ongoing flows of funding for the community development and the Reserve-based conservation operations.

By the end of 2016, Laohegou Reserve had become fully self-sustaining through funding generated from its business operations.



Bayuelin Reserve, located in Jinkouhe District of Leshan City, Sichuan Province, provides habitat for a variety of wild animals such as Giant Panda, Takin, and Sichuan Partridge.


The 102.34-square mile Bayuelin Reserve adjoins an ethnic Yi community of Linfeng Village, which is about two miles away. With upland stream ecosystems dominating the landscape, this reserve represents a potential pathway for the giant panda populations and its associated companion species on Xiaoliang Mountains to spread to Daxiang Ridge.

Despite the fact that Bayuelin was designated as a giant panda reserve dating back to 2006, little substantial conservation impact had been generated for years because its management body lacked financial, human, and technical resources. The past decade has witnessed a gradual disappearance of many species with protection status.

After a succession of research, Jinkouhe District Government decided in 2014 to place the reserve in the trust of the Paradise Foundation (the former Sichuan Nature Conservation Foundation) for management and operation. Since then Bayuelin has become the second civil protected area ever created in Sichuan, for which proven experience and best practices in Laohegou Reserve will be introduced for use by a newly restructured management body, with scientific guidance from TNC China experts.


  • 102 Square miles
  • Sichuan Partridge,the special specie
  • Mountain tea


To introduce successful experience and best practices in Laohegou Reserve to Bayuelin Reserve. The effort will focus on creating ‘good neighbors’ co-management mechanisms that help strike a balance between meeting conservation and development needs.

Science-based Conservation

To build Bayuelin Reserve into a science-based, properly operating protected area, efforts will be made to:

  • Develop and implement protected area management systems.
  • Establish science-based monitoring systems, undertake regular land patrols, field surveys and evaluations.
  • Build a self-performing team with abilities to lead local conservation endeavors.

Natural Resource Management

To regulate natural resource conservation and use, including:

  • Develop community participatory co-management mechanisms for achieving the goal of community development compatible with conservation.
  • Promote and enable regulated, sustainable harvests of NTFPs.

Alternative Livelihoods

To assist in developing local resource-based alternative livelihoods that appeal to community members for engagement, including:

  • Design and develop environmentally friendly alternative livelihoods for communities.
  • Create an open facility for multi-party cooperation and bring in resources from both public and private sectors.


July 2014

Paradise Foundation entered into an agreement for land trust with Leshan City Jinkouhe District Government, paving the way for placing an existing nature reserve in the trust of a private nonprofit organization for operation and stewardship.

January 2015

Paradise Foundation created Bayuelin Nature Conservation Center to assume the role of the Reserve’s field management agency, which created its management team and soon started Reserve-based conservation operations and community development endeavors.

June 2015

Initial field surveys for resource inventory were completed to lay the foundation for updating work plans for conservation action and refining the Reserve’s conservation management procedures.

June 2016

Field surveys for inventory of the resources in the Reserve were completed, and building on the results from those surveys, local conservation targets were identified as the giant panda, the Sichuan partridge and large/medium mammals (e.g., takin).

June 2016

Fifty kilograms of organic tea were produced by the community operations with assistance from the Conservation Center and sold, to generate a total of CNY 150,000 in cash incomes for fifty households.

July 2016

The Conservation Center signed employment contracts with some former forest farm workers and began to implement its work plans for conservation action.



Being part of the Mutunhai Wetland in Heqing County of Dali Prefecture, Yunnan, the Western Caohai Reserve is located on the avian migratory route that stretches along the Hengduan Mountains, providing habitat for numerous migratory birds in winter every year.


Despite its small size, the one-square kilometer Western Caohai is teeming with 8,000 to 10,000 migratory birds from the north in winter each year. This small stretch of wetland is also a critical water source to more than 20,000 people living in five villages around it, who rely on agricultural farming on about 667 hectares of croplands for livelihoods. As the patchwork of wetland and croplands forms an integrated ecosystem, this site deserves to be conserved, both for its wetland-based biodiversity and for the ecosystem services it offers.

In December 23, 2014, the Paradise Foundation entered into a cooperative agreement with Heqing County Government for implementing a demonstration project to build the wetland into a civil protected area, and created Heqing Western Caohai Conservation Center, the wetland’s management body, in partnership with The Nature Conservancy.


  • 1 Square Kilometer
  • 8-10,000 Migratory Birds
  • Critical Wetland Area


1. Infrastructure

The visitor center housed in the Conservation Center’s office building is open to the public, which serves multiple functions as a facility for exhibit display, professional interpretation and environmental education. The center is dedicated to become important demonstration for local efforts to and conserve manage wetlands in China.

2. Nature Education & Events

The Conservation Center hosts various wetland-based nature education events and activities in its efforts to disseminate information about the values of wetlands, such as supplying water for human consumption and cropland irrigation so that the general public will learn about wetland-related knowledge.

3. Science-based Conservation

To date field surveys and assessments for inventory of key local ecological components have been completed for establishing and developing protocols concerning monitoring of critical ecosystem indicators, including assessment of birds, reptiles, aquatic plants, hydrology and water quality. Currently under way is a planning process for local eco-conservation and restoration actions.

4. Patrols & Monitoring Operations

The Conservation Center is also working to create a 3-tiered wetland patrol system, which includes such as components of day-to-day patrols, special-purposed patrols and illegal poaching targeted patrols.


To build Western Caohai Reserve into a highly open, privately managed wetland protected area with focus on conservation and restoration of waterfowl habitat, which serves multiple functions at once, including environmental education, visitor recreations, wetland management training and provision of such ecosystem services as supplying water for drinking and irrigational purposes.


December 2016

Conservation & Restoration Action Plan for Western Caohai was developed.

June 2015

The Wetland Patrol Team under the Conservation Center was created.

April, 2015

The Western Caohai Reserve Conservation Center was created.

December, 2014

Paradise Foundation entered into a cooperative agreement with Heqing County Government for implementing a demonstration project to build the wetland into a protected area under land trust.



Located in Xianghai Mongol Autonomous Town, Tongyu County, Baicheng City, Jilin Province, Xianghai reserve belongs to Songnen Plain, a priority area for biodiversity conservation with the most widely distributed and concentrated swamps in China.


As a major reproducing area and habitat of migrant birds, Xianghai reserve is rich in biological resources, with registered birds of 17 orders, 53 families, 132 genera and 293 species, among which 10 species are under first-grade state protection. Up to 200, out of 2000 rare red-crowned cranes around the world live and multiply here. Xianghai reserve has so much to offer in natural beauty. Ridged sand dunes and inter-dune depressions distributed alternately, cultivating four diverse habitat landscapes: vast sand dunes and elm forest coexisting, boundless grasslands rolling, expansive reeds and cattails looming, bright waters and lakes rippling.

However, a more worrying picture emerges in Xianghai’s conservation, resulting in degradation of natural resources. Inadequate investment, against the huge area that Xianghai reserve covers, is partially to be blamed for. At the same time, murky land ownership also gives rise to lots of unregulated production activities, posing greater challenges to conservation management of the zone.

Since 2015, with the support from Jilin provincial government, Tongyu county government has been planning to launch migration and resettlement programs in core areas of Xianghai reserve, where population displacement and land use conversion are set to be finished within two years. The next year, a thirty-year tripartite arrangement has been reached among Tongyu county government, Administrative Committee of Xianghai National Nature Preservation Zone, and the Paradise International Foundation. Conservation projects within 100 square kilometers’ area in the zone will be carried out by the foundation, under the joint supervision of the county government and the administrative committee of the preservation zone.


  • Internationally Important Wetland
  • Migrant Bird Refuge
  • Four Diverse Habitat Landscapes


Faced with the complexity in Xianghai reserve conservation and the current utilization situation, biodiversity evaluations in the nature preservation zone will be conducted. Key conservation areas and priority restoration areas will be identified. A master plan will be proposed with due consideration for local development needs.

Our conservation projects are rooted in good science, with work focusing on four specific areas: Conservation management, background survey, ecological monitoring and research cooperation. At the same time, include nearby villages, such as Shengli village, Jianshe village and Tuanjie village, into the expansion area of the conservation zone and recruit staff from these villages to work in our conservation center.

Drawing on the best practices of Laohegou reserve in Sichuan, we are poised to promote local ecological agriculture, especially “customized agriculture” with ecological planting and breeding at its core.

With management maturity, moveable nature camps will also be introduced in separate areas near the conservation zone with good views. Ideally in 3 to 5 years, the conservation operation can be entirely financed by industries in this zone.


  • Restore unique semi-arid wetland ecosystem and save rare species in this zone.
  • Cement Xianghai reserve’s core status in priority areas for biodiversity protection to be part of the success story in internationally important wetland restoration and conservation.
  • Lead farmers down on a path of eco-friendly development around the conservation zone, therefore serving as a model for win-win scenario between natural resources restoration, conservation and local economic development.


Dec 15, 2016

Tripartite framework agreement signed among Tongyu county government, Administrative Committee of Xianghai National Nature Preservation Zone, and the Paradise International Foundation.

Jan 13, 2017

Registration finished for Tongyu, Xianghai Conservation Ecology Center.

我们专注于三个主要的方向:保护关键栖息地,通过开发自然产品让社区受益,为公众提供自然体验。

老河沟

在哪里

老河沟位于四川省平武县,平武县是我国著名的大熊猫之乡。老河沟处在《中国生物多样性保护战略与行动计划》识别出的岷山-横断山北段保护优先区内,具有丰富的生物多样性。

背景

老河沟自然保护区(以下简称“老河沟”)是中国第一个社会公益型保护区,保护区面积110平方公里。老河沟过去是一个国有林场。1998年,国家开始实施天然林保护工程,叫停了区内所有的采伐经营活动,国有林场面临保护和发展。

2011年9月,多位热心公益事业的企业家等社会力量共同发起成立四川西部自然保护基金会(现更名为四川桃花源生态保护基金会,以下简称“基金会”)持续为保护区提供资金支持,并于2012年由基金会与平武县政府签订了50年委托管理协议,获得老河沟的保护管理权,2013年,老河沟获批成立县级保护区。2014年,成立老河沟自然保护中心(以下简称“中心”)吸收当地林产公司职工,作为在地管理机构,推动实现保护地的本地化长期管理。

地图

  • 110平方公里
  • 大熊猫栖息地
  • 保护资金可以持续

策略

老河沟自然保护区坚持科学保护与社区发展并重,探索了一条可持续运营之路。

科学保护保方面

老河沟成立之初,中心就联合多个科研院所、高校的各个动植物门类的研究专家,对老河沟内的野生动植物资源进行了详实的本底调查,形成动植物多样性调查报告,并筛选出8个主要保护对象(大熊猫及其栖息地、山地溪流生态系统、常绿及次生阔叶林、森林有蹄类、亚洲金猫等大中型食肉类、川金丝猴、高山灌丛及草甸),分析了保护对象的主要威胁因素(偷猎下套等、捕鱼等),以此为依据合理安排资源保护及科研监测工作。

社区发展方面

着力构建周边社区“好邻居”关系,探索保护区与周边社区协同发展模式,推动社区成立村民议事会,帮助当地村民开发生态农产品,将区内旅游资源利益完全让渡给周边社区,并设立教育基金用于资助村民教育。

老河沟还成立了社会企业——平武县百花谷蜜业有限公司,经营生态产品,探索保护区自主、可持续运营模式,并以商业的手段,剥离中心经营性业务(接待、蜂产业),为社区发展及保护中心营运提供可持续经费。

2016年,老河沟自然保护区已经实现保护经费的自给自足。

八月林

在哪里

八月林自然保护区位于四川省乐山市金口河区,是大熊猫、羚牛、四川山鹧鸪等野生动物的栖息地。

背景

八月林自然保护区占地102.34平方公里,紧邻彝族社区林丰村,距离保护区2公里。八月林以山地溪流生态系统为主,是小凉山大熊猫种群及其伴生物种的迁徒廊道。

2006年,八月林就建立了大熊猫保护区,但是由于资金、人员、技术的缺乏,保护效果一直不理想,很多保护物种的数量仍逐渐减少。

在经过一系列调研之后,2014年,金口河区政府决定将八月林委托给桃花源生态保护基金会(原四川西部自然保护基金会)管理,将移植老河沟保护区的成功经验。中国TNC的专家受邀为保护区提供科学指导。

地图

  • 102平方公里
  • 特有物种四川山鹧鸪
  • 出产高山生态茶

生态保护方面

成立巡护队在保护区内全年巡护是我们每一个保护区必备的规定动作,这能有效杜绝盗伐、盗猎现象;同时,我们还在保护区内开展了红外相机调查、布设人工盐井,监测大型哺乳动物的全年活动,及对盐分的需求和利用情况。

社区发展方面

保护区周边社区林丰村是金口河区唯一的纯彝族村,有着悠久历史和文化。此前,上山挖药是当地社区的重要收入来源,但由于过度采挖,这种方式不可持续。

八月林自然保护区为社区茶产业提供了良好的生长环境。我们帮助村民发展生态茶产业,科学加工、提高茶叶品质,对接市场、建立茶叶品牌,帮助村民致富,让社区从保护中受益。

大事记

2014年7月

与乐山市金口河区政府签署托管协议,探索国内第一个将已建成的自然保护区委托给民间机构管理的创新模式。

2015年1月

建立八月林自然保护中心作为实际管理机构,完成组建当地团队,全面启动保护管理和社区发展工作。

2015年6月

完成第一轮本底调查,以此更新保护行动规划并完善保护管理制度。

2016年6月

完成八月林保护区本底调查,确认主要保护对象为大熊猫、四川山鹧鸪及以羚牛为代表的大中型兽类。

2016年6月

帮助社区生产并销售超过100斤高山生态茶叶,产值达到15万元,受益村民50户。

2016年7月

与原林场职工签署劳务合同,全面开展保护工作。

鹤庆

在哪里

西草海社会公益保护地位于云南省大理州鹤庆县,是母屯海湿地自然保护区的一部分。位于中国西部横断山脉的鸟类迁飞通道上,是大量候鸟的越冬栖息地。

背景

西草海是鸟类迁徙通道,面积不到一平方公里,但每年冬天有8000-10000只候鸟到西草海越冬。西草海也是极其重要的水源地,周边坐落着5个村庄,农田面积约10000亩,超过2万的村民生产生活都与西草海息息相关,形成了一个较完整的湿地-农田复合生态系统。因此,保护西草海湿地生态系统,从湿地生物多样性及生态系统服务功能角度都有重要意义。

2014年12月23日,基金会与云南省鹤庆县政府签署“鹤庆县西草海湿地社会公益型保护示范项目合作协议”,并与中国TNC共同成立了鹤庆西草海自然保护中心。

地图

  • 水面面积1平方公里
  • 8000-10000只候鸟在此越冬
  • 湿地-农田复合生态系统

策略

1. 基建设施

访客中心面向公众开放,涵盖展览展示、专业导赏、环境教育与办公场所等功能,致力于成为国内重要的湿地保护和管理的宣教示范中心之一。

2. 自然教育

积极开展一系列以草海湿地保护为主题的自然教育活动,宣传湿地的生态保护价值、供水与灌溉等功能,向公众普及湿地相关的科学知识等。

3. 科学保护。

完成了主要生态要素的本底调查,确立与编定西草海生态系统关键因子监测规程,包括:鸟类调查、两爬调查、水生植物调查、水文水质调查。正在执行生态保护与修复专项规划工作。

4. 巡护管理

建立三级巡护体系:日常巡护,专项巡护及针对非法捕猎的重点巡护。

目标

将鹤庆西草海建设成一个政府监督,民间管理,以保护和恢复水禽栖息地为主要核心,同时具有环境教育、游憩、管理培训和为社区提供灌溉和饮用水生态服务功能的,高度开放的湿地自然保护区。

大事记

2014年12月

桃花源生态保护基金会与云南省鹤庆县政府签署了“鹤庆县西草海湿地社会公益型保护示范项目合作协议”

2015年4月

鹤庆西草海自然保护中心正式挂牌成立

2015年6月

鹤庆西草海自然保护中心巡护队组建

2016年12月

鹤庆西草海保护与修复专项规划完成编写

向海

向海社会公益保护地位于吉林省白城市通榆县向海蒙古族自治乡,地处中国生物多样性保护优先区域——松嫩平原区内,是我国沼泽分布最广、最集中的地区之一。

背景

向海是重要的候鸟繁殖地和迁徙途中的补给站,生物资源十分丰富,鸟类已记录达17目53科132属293种,其中10种属国家一级保护动物。世界上仅有的近2000只丹顶鹤最多时有200多只在这里繁衍生息。景观类型丰富,垄状沙丘与垄间洼地交错相间排列,形成了沙丘榆林、茫茫草原、蒲草苇荡、湖泊水域四大自然生境景观。然而,向海目前的保护状况堪忧,自然资源退化严重,一是因为保护区面积巨大,保护投入不足;二是土地权属复杂,区内存在大量生产活动,给保护管理造成极大困难。

2015年开始,在吉林省政府的支持下,通榆县人民政府启动核心区的移民搬迁工程,计划用两年的时间,将核心区内的农户和耕地彻底转移到保护区以外。通榆县政府、向海保护区管理局、桃花源生态保护基金会签订三方协议,将保护区内100平方公里区域交由桃花源实施保护行动、由政府和保护区管理局共同监督,协议期限30年。

地图

  • 国际重要湿地
  • 候鸟繁殖地与补给站
  • 四大自然生境景观

策略

针对保护区复杂的保护和利用的现状,对整个向海自然保护区的生物多样性进行评估,明确重要的保护区域和优先恢复区域,整体规划保护战略,统筹发展需求。

进行科学保护,具体执行保护管理、本底调查、生态监测和科研合作四部分的工作。同时,将项目区周边的胜利、建设、团结等村屯划入管护区的扩展区,从村屯中招募保护中心的工作人员,同时发展生态产业,带动向海居民完成产业转型和致富。应用四川老河沟的成功经验,建立以生态种养为核心的定制农业。

在管理逐渐成熟的基础上,在管护区周边环境好且相对独立的区域,建立可移动自然营地,建立多元化的环境友好型产业生态圈,争取3-5年实行保护经费全部由产业反哺,实行保护与发展的平衡。

目标

通过社会资金和先进保护理念的进入,恢复向海独特的半干旱湿地生态系统和珍稀物种,巩固向海作为生物多样性保护优先区内核心的地位,成为国际重要湿地的恢复和保护的成功案例。

依托向海恢复的一流的环境资源,引导农户在周边建立生态友好的发展模式,从而打造一个自然资源修复保护和当地人民共生发展的典范。

大事记

2016.12.15

通榆县人民政府、向海国家级自然保护区管理局和桃花源基金会签订三方合作框架协议

2017.1.13

通榆县向海生态保护中心注册成功